Doughnuts!

Since it was a beautiful, crisp fall day today I wanted to bake! At first thought I was thinking something with pumpkin but I have heard quite a few people talking about eating doughnuts lately…….so doughnuts it was! These are quick and easy to make! Takes less time to make the batter up then the baking time which is only 15 minutes!

Now these are not your typical doughnut as they are more a cake-like doughnut, not your average Krispy Kreme! Of course they don’t compare nutritionally to those either so they will not be adding inches to your waistline or inflaming your body, since they are sugar and wheat free! I have not tried it yet but next time I plan to use my unrefined virgin coconut oil so they can be dairy free as well!

CoconutFlourDoughnutBatter
Here is the batter in my awesome doughnut pan!

Here is the recipe if you are interested in trying these! We are sugar and wheat free for our health but if you are not avoiding sugar then you could easily use honey in place of the sugar free honey substitute that I use to keep us sugar free and low carb!

Doughnuts
1/2c of coconut flour (sifted twice)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
6 eggs
1/2c sugar free honey substitute
2 tsp vanilla extract (use pure)
1/2c unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. My oven runs hot so mine was set to 325 degrees. Mix all of your dry ingredients in one bowl and set aside. Mix the remaining ingredients together in another bowl. Now mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients with a whisk. Continue to whisk until there are no lumps (or very few). Batter will thicken up a bit after it sits for a few minutes.
Spoon batter into greased circles of doughnut pan. Bake in preheated oven for 15-20 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. In my oven it took 15 minutes and they were perfect! I usually set my timer at least 5 minutes earlier and check to make sure I no longer burn things! They pop right out of the pan with ease with the mixture I used to grease the pan (see below).

If you have not worked with coconut flour, let me tell you it makes for a sticky batter! I am talking stick to the bottom of pans sticky! I had been using non-stick cooking spray but a few of my recipes have left a little more than I’d like in the bottom of my pans! I do not mind that too bad when it is just meant for us but they really wouldn’t be suitable for serving to company!

Today for the first time I whipped up a little concoction for greasing pans that I read about in the book Cooking with Coconut Flour by Bruce Fife. He says to melt 1/4c of coconut oil and them mix in 1/2 teaspoon of lecithin. We also tend to avoid soy in this house and majority of lecithin you will find is made of soy. I was able to find sunflower lecithin that is liquid so that is what I used! So I melted the coconut oil, mixed in the sunflower lecithin into it and then lightly greased my pan with that. You do have to keep the jar of this mixture in the refrigerator!

At this time I am slowly adding things back into my diet to see how my body reacts. Unfortunately sugar alcohols that are most of the artificial sweeteners I use for baking (except stevia which I am using right now daily) and coconut flour have not been added in yet as I’m sticking mostly to whole foods…….so I was not able to eat any of these delicious looking (and smelling) doughnuts! Hubby is my taste tester and he loved them so much he quickly ate three of the six! I wish that my little sweet eater Casey could have them but xylitol is not safe for pets (dogs or cats)! Please do not let them have anything made with xylitol as it can cause their blood sugar to drop severely causing vomiting, loss of coordination, seizures and even death!

I had planned to make a nice buttercream frosting (sugar free) for these doughnuts but John ate half of them so quickly that it will have to wait until the next batch I make! Since these are cake-like I think that they would make a great base for strawberry shortcake! I might experiment with this recipe a bit and try to create pumpkin doughnuts since it is that time of year! Mmmmm, pumpkin doughnuts with cream cheese frosting served up with a nice cup of pumpkin spice coffee sounds delish!

CoconutFlourDoughnuts
Sugar free coconut flour doughnuts without frosting

~ by divagatinglife on November 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
